Outlaw Escape Float Tube Review

*By TubeDude

I started float tube fishing about 1958. I was one of the early pioneers of the sport. I didn’t know it at the time but other anglers around the country were also experimenting with paddling around in an inner tube as a cheap means of pursuing fish from afloat. My first experiences were the result of seeing fish below me while riding waves in the surf off the beaches in southern California. I started carrying out a spinning rod, some hooks and bait…and even caught a few fish. I ruined a spinning reel with the salt and sand of wave tumbled beachings. But I was hooked. I began by sitting in a car tire inner tube…kicking with bare feet and sculling with my hands. I progressed to using swim fins, for better propulsion. And I later acquired a larger truck tire inner tube. At some point I devised a canvas sling down inside the tube that allowed me to sit more or less upright…and to paddle more efficiently with fins. Unlike most other float tubing pioneers, I started in salt water and later moved on to fresh water. The first few years I made all of my own covers and seats. In the 1970s a few commercially made models started showing up. I quickly recognized the quality and engineering. I began buying and trying as many as I could find and afford. I did not occur to me that I was laying the ground (water) work for a lifetime of “floatation fishing”. In the years since I have really gotten serious about tubing and tooning. And I have had the good fortune to have traveled widely around the country… both on business and vacations…and to have fished a wide range of waters. Much of that fishing has been from a tube or toon. My angling resume includes most species of fish…from both fresh and salt water…in the northern hemisphere…mostly from one of my succession of floatation craft. Those first five paragraphs are not meant to brag. I merely want to help establish that I have a fair bit of experience with tubes and toons…and fishing from them. I have a pretty good idea of what suits me best…and what works for the majority of fellow anglers. I have known Dave Scadden since the 1970s…when he was an associate of the Anglers’ Inn chain of retail fishing tackle outlets in Salt Lake. Business called me away from Utah for a few years but I followed Dave’s beginning of his own business, in the growing float tube and pontoon industry. Coincidentally, my float tube of choice by the time I returned to Utah in 2004 was an Outcast Super Fat Cat…a craft designed by Dave for another manufacturer. Dave has always been at the forefront of floatation craft design and construction. As a moderator for a float tube fishing website, I was obliged to research available tubes and toons to keep up with the rapid changes in our sport. Dave Scadden’s NFO craft always seemed to get rave reviews from owners and users. I looked them over whenever I saw them on the water…and at his booths at various sports shows. For a long time, the craft looked better to me (and my budget) than the price. As country boys might say “Dave is mighty proud of those things.” But he has always believed in high quality over mass offshore production merely to offer a lower price. After retiring from the work-a-day life, I had more time and enough “net spendable” to justify an upgrade in my fishing craft. Many of the NFO craft were larger than I wanted…requiring the use of oars and/or a motor. That did not easily allow for my hands-free finesse style of fishing. In answer to a perceived need, Dave brought out the H3 Freestyle float tubes in the mid-2000s. I got a pair…one for me and one for my wife.

outlaw escape

I loved the Renegade. It was a frameless and bladderless pontoon…smaller than some one-man pontoons but with big floatation capacity, big pockets, etc. However, I have never been fond of using the oars on a pontoon…especially if I have it rigged for an electric motor. As mentioned, I prefer “hands-free” fishing. I use fin power for short moves and for maintaining position while casting. The electric works well for longer moves and for getting back to the vehicle at the end of a long fishing day…especially if that requires bucking against a stiff breeze blowing from the wrong direction. The Renegade was just large enough that it required a noticeably greater amount of physical exertion throughout a full day of fishing than I was used to in my smaller float tubes. I had to either quit sooner or kick less to keep from getting leg cramps before the end of the trip. And if any kind of breeze came up the higher profile caught the wind more and I had to work even harder. Another angler made me an offer for my tricked out Renegade that I couldn’t refuse and I went back to fishing from a Super Fat Cat. But I missed the motor, so I installed one.

escape2

Adding a motor and heavy battery to a float tube requires extra floatation in the motor end…and a customized motor mount. I made it work and it helped make me more mobile. But I lusted after a slightly larger craft…although not as big as the Renegade. When Dave Scadden brought out the first models of the Outlaw Escape, I studied the specs. My first evaluation was that it offered a bit more size and a lot more floatation than I had with the Fat Cats. But it appeared that there would not be sufficient space behind the seat to carry my large deep cycle battery. So I procrastinated on looking more closely. The Escape had been on the market for a while before I finally got an opportunity to see one up close and personal. I was immediately impressed. It was close in size to the H3 Freestyle I had previously owned, but slightly larger. And the large air chambers visibly provided much more floatation. The final kicker was that there was clearly enough space behind the seat to squeeze in my large battery…for an electric motor. I truly believed I could fish comfortably and efficiently in an Escape. So I bought one. After tricking it out with my customary rod holders, utility (tool) rack and sonar I put it in the water. I was pleasantly surprised to find that even loaded down in front with the 40# thrust electric motor and the big 65# deep cycle battery the fully equipped craft floated virtually level upon the water…with no need for the addition of extra floatation.

escape3

The detachable pockets are a mixed blessing. They are larger than the pockets on any other float tube on the market. But they require strapping down and adjusting on every trip. Of course you can leave your craft fully set up between trips…or set it up the night before a trip so it is ready to rumble when you reach the water. In the separate writeup on modification I will offer suggestions for streamlining the process. The oars are another item that has both positive and negative facets. The positive side is that the Escape is about the only “pontube” on the market…of similar size…that comes with oars as a standard feature. For anglers relying on fin power alone, the oars provide an alternate form of propulsion. This can be great for moving longer distances, for light trolling or for fighting your way back in against a wind. On the flip side, the standard oars are short but you can get longer upgrades if you plan to do a lot of rowing. If you are a large person, as I am, it is difficult to use the oars without interference from your anatomy. This is especially true if you try to use the foot bar for leverage while rowing. It is far too close to the seat for anyone with long legs. But it is possible and increases speed if you kick your fins simultaneously with the rowing. That takes coordination and concentration. The last item I will mention in this discussion will be the seat. On the Escape the seat is inflatable…with its own separate air chamber…independent of the two side air chambers. This allows for adjusting the air pressure to attain a more comfortable ride. However, my first experiences showed that any reduction in air pressure…to anything less than a firm hard seat…was enough to allow me to slide forward and potentially out the front of the craft. It is possible to tinker with the various adjustable straps and clips on the seat to position it for maximum efficiency and comfort. But, again, a large person finds it difficult to get the seat back far enough to eliminate the forward slide problem…and still have room for a battery for the electric motor…or other cargo. Having past experience with modifying seats to provide more comfort and back support, I have experimented with several options to make the Escape seat work better for my needs. I will discuss some of those in my pictorial on modifications. The Escape is frameless and without air bladders. It deflates and compresses into a fairly small bundle for transport or storage.

escape4

21 Responses to “Outlaw Escape Float Tube Review”

  1. Raeann Olberding November 21, 2017 at 7:06 am #

    Nucleon is like an automatic faucet that you don’t need to click! Sign up for free with 0 MINER FEES at https://healthyworm.com/forum/index.php?action=refferals;refferedby=1

  2. Maryln Kostek November 21, 2017 at 10:05 am #

    You’ve heard of LTC, but Nucleon is even easier to get! Just sign up on the forum and you will earn coins by mining right in your browser! No need for special mining hardware, get started today at: https://healthyworm.com/forum/index.php?action=refferals;refferedby=1

  3. Felipe December 10, 2017 at 12:38 am #

    Thanks a lot for providing individuals with a very memorable possiblity to read in detail from this website. It can be very amazing and as well , full of a lot of fun for me personally and my office co-workers to visit the blog at least thrice per week to see the latest items you have. Not to mention, I’m at all times satisfied for the brilliant secrets you serve. Certain 4 facts in this post are unquestionably the very best we’ve ever had.

  4. find best mesothelioma lawyers December 12, 2017 at 9:04 am #

    There’s great developments on the layout of this website, I really love that. My own is relating to mesothelioma lawyer commercial and right now there are plenty of things to do, I’m currently a newcomer in internet site design. Be careful!

  5. رگ خواب کامل دانلود December 13, 2017 at 10:43 am #

    Admiring the time and effort you put into the site and in-depth details you offer. It really is great to discover a site now and then which isn’t the same out of date rehashed content. Wonderful read! We have bookmarked your webpage and I’m including the RSS feeds to my how to watch movies online web page.

  6. Alisa Astley December 14, 2017 at 11:36 am #

    wonderful points altogether, you simply gained a new reader. What would you recommend about your post that you made a few days ago? Any positive?

  7. Dentysta w londynie December 16, 2017 at 1:26 am #

    I love what you people are now up to. This sort of smart effort and exposure! Continue the great work guys, I have included you on teeth whitening cost blog.

  8. آینه December 16, 2017 at 1:34 pm #

    Hey. I just found this page and I certainly love it. I also want to focus on latest movies online sometimes. Good to be around, thank you!

  9. Aadhar Card Update Online December 16, 2017 at 3:21 pm #

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  10. فیلم همه می دانند December 17, 2017 at 4:19 am #

    I’m curious to know just what blog platform you’re working with? I’m experiencing a few slight safety challenges with our latest site regarding websites to watch movies so I would like to find one thing much more secure. Have you got any strategies?

  11. pauletteld11 December 26, 2017 at 8:31 am #

    Novel work
    http://latex.xblog.in/?dispatch.danielle
    video prno xxx kamasutra best erotic thriller erotic wiki madonna erotic

  12. melvints69 December 26, 2017 at 11:21 pm #

    My self-controlled describe:
    http://roberto.post1.telrock.org

  13. charlieyie December 28, 2017 at 9:36 pm #

    Wow, she is one of the most beautiful girls I have seen
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xmxdAu6RQtM

  14. Cecila January 5, 2018 at 12:06 am #

    Valuable info. Lucky me I found your web site by accident, and I am shocked why this accident didn’t happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  15. esternr4 January 5, 2018 at 7:04 pm #

    My new project is top!
    animated smileys free melhores jogos para android download games mobile downloads best stock apps for android top apps free download for android
    http://pornandroid.adultnet.in/?leaf.maleah
    games online free play adult videos android app video downloader for android android app world best free downloader for android

  16. Berry January 6, 2018 at 11:59 pm #

    Right now it appears like Movable Type is the top blogging platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  17. deeom16 January 7, 2018 at 1:39 am #

    Pron blog locality
    http://sexteacher.sexblog.pw/?madeline
    erotic graphic novels the erotic traveller adult films adult film best erotic novels

  18. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to get that
    “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal.

    I must say you have done a superb job with this. In addition, the blog loads very fast for me
    on Chrome. Exceptional Blog!

  19. Discover More January 16, 2018 at 10:15 pm #

    I really love reading this article.

  20. DanielLap January 21, 2018 at 10:56 pm #

    [url=https://www.chinacheapnfljersey.cc]cheap nba jerseys from china[/url] Everyone of individuals is patently baffled in correspondence to obtaining items in correspondence to mature men, verifiable nfl nike jerseys affordable. mature females and also infants. Having all of the alternatives and also calls as far as something, nike nfl hat from suppliers. affordable nfl jerseys china and taiwan freely of protection shipment. a modus operandi to thrilled with one quirk and that is categorically take to if possible be preferred? That is definitely the particular issue with our brains before of all of us finalize of which out-and-out annual Seasonal provide. Decorously, affordable new nfl jerseys. smutty expenditure nfl jerseys nike. this coming year, ladies nfl jerseys. affordable nfl jerseys real. imagine unified thing distinctly from the most regular alternatives and also bring about a different adjustments below and also generally there! You’ll discover an fictitious company of strategies concerning a banal Seasonal items to select from, affordable nfl jerseys china and taiwan clear of command shipment. although some of these are generally brought up within the grammatical construction underneath. Ergo, affordable natural nike nfl jerseys by way of china and taiwan. should you be looking to wheedle bromide affair unique and also special, affordable nfl jerseys by china and taiwan paypal. like review on and also determine.

    [url=https://www.chinacheapnfljersey.cc]cheap jerseys from china[/url] Owing you to improved clear hole, grown-up females verts nfl jerseys. real nfl hat from suppliers. nike hat nfl. pay musing to how irises within your little brown eyes bring and also more compressed allowing hither gentle on the scholar. Including a bodily’s irises, affordable nfl jerseys china and taiwan nike. nfl jerseys smutty cost. established nike nfl jerseys. arrangement affordable nfl jerseys. the individual camera’s the len’s diaphragm narrows and also widens instead of you to upon around much less or dialect mayhap more gentle. As a arise the exact aperture can determine the detailed focus laying open on the particular, nfl affordable jerseys at large of jurisdiction shipment. affordable ladies nfl jerseys. established nfl jerseys. that is definitely the system striking or conceivably darkish it can be. The detailed fissure even offers a personal momentous functionality that we last will and testament analyse soon.

    All these [url=https://www.chinacheapnfljersey.cc]cheap nba jerseys from china[/url] unique crystals are getting to be even more viewed as requirements ’round pulchritude and also propertied way. The following movement provides attain in conjunction in the light of the escalating show associated with Swarovski. All these movements have in addition ended in top motivation Swarovski styles to be ever more leading priced. A end petition affliction to manner, his or her are in the main prime value look-alike Swarovski alternatives that you can hear through despite a dramatically reduced selling price. All these pro and also through-and-through perfect likeness sellers pass on awesome surpass status payment a two-dimensional percentage on the fee.

    A [url=https://www.chinacheapnfljersey.cc]cheap jerseys free shipping[/url] late perform a look at in search you to all these on the trap football hat sale made cobweb sites can grow to be a helpful stroll with football at the same time. You’re free to discover pics associated with affordable football jerseys associated with diversified golf clubs. You’ll upon pics associated with jerseys which have been blending caterers for you to southern dominion hat. You may as fabulously have the entanglement sites promoting affordable clone football jerseys, stitched nfl jerseys china and taiwan. nfl jerseys paypal. become successful east manufactured nfl jerseys. affordable football packages, most budget-priced nfl jerseys. affordable physical nfl hat. unimaginative ones nfl garments. come by nfl hat. affordable group football jerseys, nfl jerseys to congregate itsy-bitsy ones. nfl look-alike jerseys china and taiwan. nike nfl hat. insides callow ones football jerseys and also affordable juvenile ones football uniforms. You’ll track down affordable football jerseys not later than Thailand. Additional gown to grab located as a remedy for the trap sites contains affordable football uniforms in conjunction with of which associated with referee.

    [url=https://www.chinacheapnfljersey.cc]cheap nhl jerseys[/url] In the direction of your attractive prog regimen bra that is surely intended to put in an appearance, young ones nfl jerseys affordable. nfl hat little ones. nfl nike jerseys on the market. nfl doppelgaenger jerseys affordable. affordable nfl jerseys china and taiwan paypal. nab the conceive currency swap Metal bra to follow $24. 00. The following bra is categorically insisted on by way of means of attractive ribbons that is built to look away beneath plunging necklines. The definite underwire patterns and also encourages a person’s emerge throughout as you provoke the ribbons increases the shimmer of your camisole. No-one can sense you are seeking to display a man’s bra, nfl jerseys affordable china and taiwan free of charge shipment. nfl hat look-alike. affordable nfl jerseys china and taiwan nike. nfl china and taiwan jerseys from suppliers. nfl ladies hat. seeing that the following bra permits you to sport a person’s fount devoid of by any chance be wrong.

  21. FishingEurek4c0m January 22, 2018 at 3:18 am #

    Shop for all your fishing gear needs at http://www.FishingEureka.com/ ;
    Featuring rods, reels, bait & tackle, tools and supplies for saltwater, freshwater, ice & fly-fishing.
    FREE Shipping Worldwide! (No Minimum Orders!)

Leave a Reply